WhateverWednesday #1

This Wednesday I have something really important to discuss. It’s something that has been bothering me for years. So be prepared, because this WhateverWednesday is going to be intense and very serious.
In the Netherlands learning the English language is very important. We rely on our international relations with other countries and since no one speaks Dutch, we pride ourselves on speaking different languages. So we learn English at a very young age. I was nine when I had my first English lessons in school. Don’t worry this isn’t the subject for this Wednesday. It is far more important!
When you learn a new language, you have to start with the basics. For us that meant counting and learning the days of the week. This is where it gets interesting. Monday? No problem. Tuesday? Also fine. But Wednesday? Are you f*cking kidding me?
Why on earth do you write it Wednesday, but pronounce it wens-day? Did you use to pronounce it wed-nes-day and somehow got tired so you changed it to wens-day? And if that is true, why not change the writing as well? It so confusing and it doesn’t make sense. I might be exaggerating a little (I tend to do that a lot). So give me a moment to cool down…
Okay, I’m cool. It’s just really confusing for a nine year old learning another language. It’s like, when you have math for the first time. All you are wondering is where did all those letters come from. That wasn’t the deal. Side note: math was one of my best subjects in school, but that’s beside the point.

I just really needed to discuss this with someone and I feel so much better now. I’m starting to realize that this blog is becoming some kind of therapy session for me. As for Wednesday, I’m just going to have to deal with it.
But, I mean whatever.

Have a nice Wensday!

Leave a Reply

