ThankfulThursday #1

This Thursday I’m thankful for Colin Firth.

A week ago I saw Kingsman: The Secret Service and it was mind-blowing. (Literally! If you don’t know what I’m talking about, go watch the movie. I mean, it is really Mind-Blowing! Your mind will blow up.) It’s funny, suspenseful and just really amazing. When you leave the cinema you just know that this movie was worth every penny.
The movie is basically a present day version of King Arthur. Now that I come to think of it, that isn’t even close to what this movie is. It’s so much more. It’s something I have personally never seen before. I really have no idea how to describe it. So all I can say is: ‘It’s not that kind of a movie.’
It’s not any kind of movie.
Samuel L. Jackson and Colin Firth turn this movie into an entirely new experience. In this movie Colin Firth reminds us what being a true gentleman is all about. To use his own words: ‘Manners maketh man.’ He has class, but can still kickass. And who doesn’t like a man in a nice tailored suit?
Meanwhile, Samuel L. Jackson shows us what a true villain is supposed to look like. I mean what villain has these amazing dinner parties, with probably some of the most powerful people in the world, and serves them McDonald’s. I mean, only a true evil mastermind could think of that.
Their scenes together are just pure genius. What do you get when you put a true gentleman and an evil mastermind together?  -Cinema gold!

Colin Firth, once again, proves to the world that he can play any role you throw at him. He also proves that it’s okay to have a crush on a 54 year old man. And I mean, it isn’t just this amazing piece of art Colin Firth has given to the world. Think about it. Pride and Prejudice, Bridget Jones’s Diary, Love Actually, Nanny McPhee, Mamma Mia!, Dorian Gray, A Single Man, The king’s speech. And these are just some of the roles he played.

So, today I just want to take a moment to appreciate the genius that is Colin Firth. Of course, I would also like to take a moment to thank his parents for birthing him. None of this would have been possible without them.

I would like to end this post with the words of Galahad:  ‘Hail Satan, and have a lovely afternoon madam.’

Have a nice Thursday.

Leave a Reply

