FictionFriday #3

Oh yes! We’re trying again. I did two other FictionFridays and the stories were pretty crazy, but still really interesting, so let’s do it again. For the people that don’t know how FictionFriday works let me explain. I choose four books from my own book collection. From those four books I randomly choose one quote (so I end up with four quotes). These four quotes will be the guideline for a short story. The first story was about a plane crash the second story was about some kids smoking pot. If you haven’t read them yet just click here and here.

Let’s start with the quotes!!!
Sentence one from Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close: I know, because there was a standing ovation, which made me feel like one hundred dollars.
Sentence two from To Kill a Mockingbird: But things are always better in the morning.
Sentence three from Divergent: Our eyes meet for just a second.
Sentence four from The Piano: She was aware without looking that he was smiling, so she played even more loudly, all the strings within the piano reverberating.

I think this could actually be a nice and fun story! Although with my brain you never know…

I know, because there was a standing ovation, which made me feel like one hundred dollars. I’m looking at the crowd. Everyone is clapping. I get up from behind my piano and take a bow. A smile appears on my face. I really do feel like a hundred dollars. After everything that happened the past few days, this moment was all I needed. It’s just like my mom used to say: ‘But things are always better in the morning.’
I wish she could have been here and dad too. They would be looking up at me. They would’ve been so proud. Maybe, if Heaven really does exist, my mom is dragging Mozart by his collar right now and telling him to come listen to her amazing daughter. I can’t stop the tears.
The crowd wants me to keep playing. I walk back to my piano and sit down. I don’t know which composition I should play next. I take a deep breath. The crowd settles down and the room goes from exploding with applause to an intense silence. Out of nowhere I can hear the music. It’s like nothing I’ve ever heard before. My hands and fingers seem to take control. All my emotions, the pain after losing my parents, the loneliness that remained. All of it comes pouring out.
For a moment I look at the crowd. Our eyes meet for just a second. The boy from the bar last night. He’s here. He came. He had understood her pain like no one else could. He was the whole reason she decided to go through with the performance. There he was in his messy clothes, surrounded by the elegant crowd. He didn’t fit in, but she doesn’t care.
All of a sudden the song changes. You can still hear the pain, but underneath you can hear hope. The hope that things might change around for the better. The knowledge that pain is only temporary. The knowledge that love is everlasting. The knowledge that love can never die.
She was aware without looking that he was smiling, so she played even more loudly, all the strings within the piano reverberating.

Woow… I kinda surprised myself with this one.

Have a nice Friday.

Ps. You want me to write another FictionFriday, maybe give me some of your favorite quotes. You can leave a comment on this page or go to the Facebook page and leave your quotes there. (Oh, also don’t forget to give the title of the book as well!)

Leave a Reply

