FictionFriday #4

It’s Friday people! Just hold on for a little longer. It’s almost weekend. But because Friday has 24 hours, just like all the other days, I thought I would write another FictionFriday to give you some extra inspiration. Just a reminder how FictionFriday normally works, because today will be a little different. I choose four books from my own book collection. From those four books I randomly choose one quote (so I end up with four quotes). These four quotes will be the guideline for a short story.
This is how the past three FictionFridays worked, I really recommend you read them. They’re pretty fun. This Friday I thought we would do the same thing, but this time I’ll write a poem instead of a story. I found four poems I really loved, randomly chose one line from each poem and hope I’ll be able to turn them into something new.

First sentence from If I Can Stop One Heart From Breaking by Emily Dickinson: I shall not live in vain
Second sentence from The Eternal Riddle by P.M. Raskin: Bent – never broken
Third sentence from Caged Bird by Maya Angelou: The free bird thinks of another breeze
Fourth sentence from Solitude by Ella Wheeler Wilcox: There is room in the halls of pleasure

I shall not live in vain
Nobody can keep me captive
Without hesitation
I’m not afraid to break my chain

Bent – never broken,
Nobody can hold me back
Without silence
The truth will be spoken

The free bird thinks of another breeze
Nobody knows the real pain
Without mercy
They’ll be on their knees

There is room in the halls of pleasure
My soul will finally be free
With love and honor
My life will be treasured

I don’t know why, but I really like these FictionFridays. It always turns into something amazing.

Have a nice Friday.

Leave a Reply

