WhateverWednesday #16

Just a quick warning, if you’re one of those people that’s sick of all the feminist opinions and stuff, first of all you’re an idiot, second of all you might not want to read this post. The truth is I just really need to get this of my chest.

20141206-fifa-womens-worldcup1
I’ve already told you that soccer is a big thing in my family and that the FIFA Women’s World Cup is taking place in Canada right now. The Dutch female soccer team was defeated by the Japanese team yesterday, which was a bummer, but that’s not what I want to talk about.
I’ve stayed up just so I could watch the games to support our lionesses (which is the name for the Dutch female soccer team). The thing that really bothered me, though, is the Dutch commentator. (Just a quick disclaimer: This might be something that only happens in the Netherlands.)
First of all it’s a man that commentates the games, which is fine with me. I have nothing against that, but if this commentator can only talk about male soccer players, while the female team is playing, I get annoyed. He kept comparing the girls to male soccer players. Every time they did something amazing he had some other male player to compare them to. The new Lionel Messi. She reminds me of Robben. Just like van Persie. Why do we need to make comparisons? Aren’t these girls amazing players in their own right? Why do they need to be compared to some other players? Is that the only way their achievements are valid? To be honest it really pisses me off.
I was already pretty irritated when our commentator started talking about the marital status of some of the Japanese players. He was talking about one Japanese player that has a new name on her shirt because she got married. That’s fine. Congratulations to her! But then he kept talking about it. Eventually he was talking about someone’s sister who wasn’t married. I don’t know. By then I was trying to block his constant annoying comments. What does any of this have to do with the actual game?
It’s probably clear that I’m still pretty pissed. I don’t know if this is just something that only Dutch commentators do, but I really don’t think I can listen to any more games.

Is it really that spectacular that women can do things just as well as men, sometimes maybe even better?

To our Dutch commentator I would like to say: “Whatever!”

Have a nice Wednesday.

3 thoughts on “WhateverWednesday #16

  1. That sucks. The Canadian commentators don’t do that at all. They’re super respectful of the teams, even the opposing ones. Gender just isn’t an issue.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. American commentators are boring but they don’t do that. Mexican commentators are amazing! Such fun and even the dull games seem so exiting. You don’t even have to speak Spanish to get their fun vibe. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

