10-things-Tuesday #15

It’s become a new way of communicating, a new way of speaking, a new way of explaining our inner emotions. Yes, I’m talking about emoticons. Smiley faces, crying cats, dancing twins, thumbs up, hearts and most recently the middle finger. These are just some of the options you can chose from. We no longer need to express our inner thoughts with words we can just send each other a little image and all of a sudden everything makes sense. There are just some emoticons that don’t make sense at all. They just confuse me and sometimes scare me. Here are ten emoticons that make me feel old because I have no idea what they mean and why anyone would ever use them.

  1. Those creepy purple devils.
    0a11d123a3065a907c412b6e0fb606f8 Naamloos
    Why are they purple? Why is one of them smiling like he’s up to something while the other looks like he’s about to destroy the whole world? In what situation would you ever need to use those creepy Satans?
  2. The girl with her hands above her head and her arms crossed.
    emoji
    What is she doing? Is she dancing YMCA and doing a really poor job? What’s happening? Is she having a stroke? Because if she is, why would you need an emoticon for that? If you’re having a stroke call a doctor, don’t waste time texting your friends!
  3. The blowfish.
    blowfish
    What am I supposed to do with that?
  4. The bamboo trees.
    enhanced-buzz-1437-1374089828-4
    Do they have some hidden meaning I don’t know? Was there some kind of class in school that explained the meaning behind all these emoticons that I missed?
  5. The lock with the pen in front of it.
    lock-with-ink-pen
    Is this some rebus puzzle I supposed to solve? Only the written word can unlock my secrets. What does it mean?
  6. The plug.
    ap,550x550,12x16,1,transparent,t.u3
    I don’t even know where to begin with this one.
  7. The eggplant.
    Naamloos2
    Is my phone trying to tell me I need to eat healthier? I have my sister for that. And what is that thing next to it? The fact that I don’t know what it is just proofs I don’t eat healthy enough.
  8. The 12 different train emoticons.
    flat,1000x1000,075,f.u3
    What am I supposed to do with those? Send all of them in case the person getting the text doesn’t know what a train looks like?
  9. The horizontal traffic light.
    Naamloos4
    Do those really exist? Because if they do I apologize for my limited knowledge of horizontal traffic lights.
  10. The zzZ emoticon.
    Naamloos5
    You do realize you can’t sleep and text at the same time!?!

If you do know why we need these emoticons let me know! Do enlighten me.

Have a nice Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

