MoodyMonday #25

Mood: Annoyed

“What do you do?”
“I’m a student.”
“Really, what do you study?”
“Film and literary sciences, specializing in literature.”
“So you just watch movies and read books all day?”
“Actually, it’s a lot more than that.”
“But you do watch movies and read books, right?”
“Well, yes, but…”
“So basically everyone could do it? I mean, I read books and watch movies all the time.”
“It doesn’t exactly work like that.”
“Oh, please. You’re just wasting your education. What can you do once you finish, huh?”

Always the same conversation. I know I’m not the only student who has to deal with these type of questions. We live in a world where everything is about getting a job and earning more money. We’re not allowed to do something for fun or just because it’s interesting. No, everything we do needs to be part of some bigger plan. It’s all to get that job or promotion. We’re not allowed to just take a breath and enjoy life. We always need to focus on the next step. We always need to move forward.

“I want to be a writer.”
“Yeah right. Let me guess, you’re going to be the next J.K. Rowling?”
“Actually, I am.”
“Ha, just stick to your books. You need a real education so you can get a REAL job.”
“Being a writer is a real job.”
“Keep on dreaming kid.”

Why is me wanting to be a writer not a valid dream? Why is it okay for kids to want to be a lawyer, but it isn’t okay for me to want to be a writer? I’ve been blessed with two amazing parents who support me in living my life the way I want it to, but that didn’t stop my school from pushing me to pursue a higher education. It didn’t stop strangers, who don’t even know me, to judge the fact that I am a literary student. I know more about the world than they will ever know. I know that words can change the world. I know that the only way to share knowledge is by using language. I know that words have power. And maybe it’s the fact that it’s late and I’m tired and I’m annoyed by people judging my life choices, but I’m not going to stop using my words, just because you think I should.
I don’t care your daughter became a lawyer or a doctor because you pushed her. I don’t care she is making a ton of money. Because while she is living YOUR dreams, I am living MINE.

Have a nice Monday.

2 thoughts on “MoodyMonday #25

  1. This has me thinking of my days as a student. I had chosen archaeology, a subject that had been a passion of mine ever since childhood. It’s HARD making it as an archaeologist. Many, if not most, who start on that path end up doing something else instead out of sheer necessity. Because at the end of the day, you need work that will pay the bills and put food on your table. But, as I would say when asked: “It is a passion of mine, it is what I want to do. I owe it to myself to at least try. If it doesn’t work out, well then it doesn’t work out. But I owe myself to at least try or I will regret it for the rest of my life.”

    It’s your choice. As long as you are aware of the difficulties that are involved, and are aware that you might end up having to go down another path in the end anyway if necessary. It’s your life, no one elses!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

